Sabine Atzor

Director Regulatory Affairs,
part time seconded from F.Hoffmann-La Roche to EFPIA

Sabine Atzor joined F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd in Basel as Head of EU Regulatory Policies in 2010. In this function she has been contributing to various policy discussions within EFPIA, in particular on the new EU Clinical Trials Regulation, where she has been leading the industry discussions and the clinical data transparency debate. She has recently been seconded for 40% of her time to EFPIA to work on the topic of early access to medicines and “Medicines Adaptive Pathways to Patients” at the interface of HTA/ Regulatory with a view of improving the application of the existing regulatory system.

Prior to joining Roche she worked for about 14 years in the public sector, of which almost six years in the Pharmaceuticals Unit of the European Commission, Directorate General Enterprise and Industry (DG ENTR) and later at the Directorate General Health and Consumers (DG SANCO). At the Commission, she was in charge of preparing the EU Falsified Medicines Directive and an agreement between the European Union and Israel, amongst others.

Before working for the European Commission, she was Head of Department “Medicinal Products” at the Central Authority of the German Länder with regards to Health Protection with Medicinal Products and Medical Devices (ZLG) where she established a coordination unit for the GMP and GCP inspectorates of the German Länder (Regions). Here she could build on her previous experience as Head of Unit of “Supervision of Medicinal Products, Medical Devices” at the Regional Ministry of Health of Hesse/ Germany where she was in charge of oversight of the regional GMP/ GCP inspectorates.

Earlier industry experience included about five years of Clinical Study and Regulatory Project Management at Abbott Germany.

Sabine Atzor is a qualified pharmacist (Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz).

For many years Sabine has been contributing to DIA through numerous presentations as a regulator and later as an industry representative. Since 2010 she is a member of the DIA Advisory Council Europe.